Gary A. Goldstein – Interview

Today we speak to Gary A. Goldstein.

Gary GoldsteinQ) Tell us something about yourself.

My name is Gary Goldstein, I am 51 years “young,” and I am the author of “Jew in Jail,” as well as a blogger and motivational & inspirational speaker on recovery from addiction.  I am single, and live in Brooklyn, New York, where I enjoy reading, writing, working out, going to the beach, playing and watching sports, listening to music, and dating.

Q) Tell us about your latest book. Why do you think the readers will like it?

My book, “Jew in Jail” is the true story of the nearly six years I spent as a minority in prison, and my battles, and ultimate recovery from addictions to alcohol, drugs and gambling.

I truly believe readers will get a lot out of my book, because it is brutally honest, and shows that anyone, from any walk of life, is susceptible to the disease of addiction and can end up in prison by simply making one mistake in life.

In addition, it is a very heartwarming and inspirational story that demonstrates it is possible to overcome any obstacles and go on to lead a productive, fruitful life, regardless of one’s past.

Q) How did you come up with the title of the book?

Well, “Jew in Jail” just seemed to fit perfectly, so it was a no-brainer!

Q) What kind of research did you do for your book?

None, actually, since I wrote it as I was doing my time.  In that respect, you can say that I lived it!

Q) Which of the Characters in your book are your favourites and why?

Since “Jew in Jail” is the true story of my time behind bars, and everything that went along with it, the answer to that question obviously has to be me, because it was extremely therapeutic writing it, and was what I used as a stepping stone to get on with my life once I was released from prison.

Q) Every Author has a distinct writing style. How would you describe your style and how do you think you came to form it?

I wrote my book in the narrative style, and it really formed itself, due to my situation at the time.

Q) How long have you been working on this book and what inspired you to write it?

It took me about a year to write “Jew in Jail” while behind bars.  I have always wanted to write a book, although, obviously, not under these conditions of becoming incarcerated.  However, once I knew that my fate was going to be serving time in prison, I decided to write “Jew in Jail,” and was inspired to do so once my beloved late father, Irving Goldstein, passed away from the effects of lung cancer and emphysema on January 23, 1999, which was only 15 days after I had been sentenced, and still on Rikers Island waiting to be transported north to a correctional facility.  My father had always encouraged me to be my best, and offered unending support my entire life, so I wanted to honor my father by dedicating “Jew in Jail” to how special my father was to me.

Q) When did you start writing and when did you realize you want to become an Author?

I started writing at a young age, and was the editor-in-chief of my college newspaper.  Originally, I wanted to be a sportswriter or sports caster, if I couldn’t be a professional athlete first!  So when that initial “dream” died, I decided to pursue my writing career, and eventually wrote “Jew in Jail,” as a first time published author.

Q) Who are some of the Authors you like and how do you think their work inspired you?

I would definitely have to say it begins and ends with Dr. Phillip C. McGraw, better known as Dr. Phil, simply because he is so straight to the point and practical about how to live life the right way.  Plus, I also respect Dr. Phil so much, since he is all about helping people too.

Q) What do you think is the most difficult part about writing and publishing a novel?

For me, it is being comfortable enough to allow the public to see what I have written, without continuously feeling the need to have it proofread over and over again.  Then, of course, it is marketing what I have written, in order to make sure it reaches as many readers as possible, which is a lot of hard and tedious work.

Q) What is some advice you will like to give to people trying to write and get their stories published?

It would be to find your “hook,” or unique way to market your book, and never give up trying to get noticed in the literary world.  In addition, read, read, read, and learn the different styles that are out there.  Finally, as much as I enjoy working online, nothing beats getting out there in the real world to meet people, whether it is at workshops, book signings, etc.

Q) Tell us something about what you are working on or about some of your future projects.

I have another book (about the internet) that I would like to write and get published, but for the time being, I am content to continue to market “Jew in Jail.”  I also continue to be a motivational and inspirational speaker on addiction and recovery, interested in helping other addicts out there who are still sick and suffering, which is tied to my book as well.

Q) From amongst all the novels ever published if you had to write any one, which one would it be and why?

Hmmm, that is a very tough question, but I would have to say “The Grapes of Wrath” by John Steinbeck, because of its enduring legacy and historical context.

Q) If you had to convince someone to read your book in 5 lines what would they be?

Read “Jew in Jail” to learn that what happened to me can possibly happen to yourself.

If you want to read a book that examines the human condition and soul, then make sure you grab “Jew in Jail.”

If you have ever been lacking self-esteem and self-confidence, then read “Jew in Jail” and learn how to pull yourself out of that rut.

To make the most out of life, and protect those you care about and love, read “Jew in Jail” and find out that we, as human beings, are all very similar, and have certain emotions and desires that need to be filled.

Addiction is a powerful disease that doesn’t have to last forever, so look for your copy of “Jew in Jail” in order to become educated and prevent this illness from affecting your life or those around you.

Links:

Buy The Book From : http://www.amazon.com/Jew-Jail-Gary-Goldstein/dp/1452864349/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1300643209&sr=1-1

Website : http://www.jewinjail.com/

Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/jewinjail

Twitter : http://twitter.com/gary_Goldstein

Pintrest : http://pinterest.com/gman18nyc/

Goodreads : http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/4314781

Blog : http://gman18.wordpress.com/

Barnes and Noble : http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/jew-in-jail-by-gary-goldstein?keyword=jew+in+jail+by+gary+goldstein&store=book

Smashwords : https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/268885

YouTube : http://www.youtube.com/channel/UC55eh40gNvx_wCxyTQ-uqoQ

LinkedIn : http://www.linkedin.com/profile/edit?trk=hb_tab_pro_top 

2 thoughts on “Gary A. Goldstein – Interview

Leave a Reply

