T Lucas Earle – Interview

Today we speak to T Lucas Earle. 

tlucasearleQ) Tell us something about yourself.

I grew up in rural western Massachusetts. I didn’t have TV and there wasn’t a whole lot to do, so I wrote stories to entertain myself. To this day, I write mostly to entertain myself.

Q) Tell us about your latest book. Why do you think the readers will like it?

My upcoming book is Eve’s Apple. It’s a science fiction novel and part of a trilogy about a time in the future when millions people live in colonies orbiting the earth. The physical expansion is less important than the expansion in the world of digital reality and computerized thought. My goal is to write science fiction that’s immersive and imaginative without being dry or cold.

Q) How did you come up with the title of the book?

Eve’s Apple is, of course, iconic imagery. I explore the place of religion and idolatry in the future, when technological advancements have permeated the human body.

Q) What kind of research did you do for your book?

Because the book takes place on space colonies, I had to do a lot of calculus and physics to figure out the speed and force of various heavenly bodies. I also read a lot about economics, because every colony in my book is unique and I believe cultural differences are born of economic differences.

Q) Which of the Characters in your book are your favourites and why?

Amelia is the main character of the book. She’s wonderful to write because she’s so damaged and yet so unbelievably powerful. So I can toy with gender expectations without letting them override proper character development.

Q) How did you formulate this character? Is it based on someone you know?

In a lot of ways, the book is about trauma. I had the idea for the book on the anniversary of 9/11. I was thinking about how our nation had been traumatized by what we had seen. And I felt a little raw, having being so young when it happened. The feeling of trauma that I felt, that I saw in others, I translated into my main character.

Q) Every Author has a distinct writing style. How would you describe your style and how do you think you came to form it?

I once asked a writing professor how to best write sarcasm. I remember he didn’t have a very good answer for me, so ever since then I’ve been trying to figure it out.

Q) How long have you been working on this book and what inspired you to write it?

I’ve been working on this book for six years, although it has undergone so many rewrites that I doubt there is a single word left from the original draft. I was inspired by my grandfather, who was a psychophysicist and would tell me funny stories of all the ways the brain can malfunction. I incorporate this into all of my writing. The Iraq war was also an influence on this book because, as a country, America had no idea how to express its grief, other than bombing someone. Another source of inspiration was the internet, which I watched grow up with me. It had such a powerful effect on my growth, on the growth of everyone my age that I wanted to write about it.

Q) When did you start writing and when did you realize you want to become an Author?

I started writing my first book when I was ten. It was about an alien who turns into a butterfly and gets caught by a child. It was a very ambitious project. I believe I wrote it in crayon. I never actually wanted to become an author; I just kept on having ideas for books. It seemed a shame not to write them.

Q) Who are some of the Authors you like and how do you think their work inspired you?

Don Delillo is the greatest American writer. He writes with such manic curiosity that ordinary life seems profound. I think he made me realize that a writer doesn’t need to connect two thoughts; the readers will find a way to connect them on their own.

Q) What do you think is the most difficult part about writing and publishing a novel?

Revision. I imagine hell is a book that you must endlessly rewrite. And no matter how much you do, the book will never make sense. I decided to self-publish because I love the internet, and I think a middle man isn’t necessary for books these days.

Q) What is some advice you will like to give to people trying to write and get their stories published?

Write more.

Q) Tell us something about what you are working on or about some of your future projects.

I’m working on a young adult fantasy based on Mayan mythology.

Q) From amongst all the novels ever published if you had to write any one, which one would it be and why?

Pattern Recognition, by William Gibson. Because I would love to be that cool.

Q) If you had to convince someone to read your book in 5 lines what would they be?

It

Gets

Better

I

Promise

Links:

Website : http://www.tlucasearle.com/

Monkey Talk : http://www. amazon.com/Monkey-Talk-ebook/dp/B00DSVUIT6/

The 13th Prophet : http://www.amazon.com/The-13th-Prophet-ebook/dp/B00DU2IQGU/

Leave a Reply

