Ichabod Temperance – Interview

Today we speak to Ichabod Temperance.

IchabodQ) Tell us something about yourself.

I am a life-long resident of the Birmingham, Alabama area. I live with my lovely muse, Miss Persephone Plumtartt, along with our furry pack family.

Q) Tell us about your latest book. Why do you think the readers will like it?

“A World of InTemperance” is a light-hearted romp that has an emphasis on humour, as much as the thriller aspect of a story. I do not think there is anything else quite like it around the market these days. I think the Reader is free to enjoy the novel, and not be so overly serious.

Q) How did you come up with the title of the book?

I suppose I am attempting to develop a theme to the series titles. The first being “A Matter of Temperance” and the second being “A World of InTemperance”. I am pretty sure that future titles will continue in that vein.

Q) What kind of research did you do for your book?

I have always enjoyed looking at maps. Finding historical maps of the places to which I want my heroes to travel is my primary research tool. But I also depend heavily upon the assistance of Miss Plumtartt.

Q) Which of the Characters in your book are your favourites and why?

I like to put my friends in my books. In this last one, a couple of buddies of mine steal the show.  They are hilarious!

I also give my brother’s dog sentience and put him in the book. My mom liked that!

Q) How did you formulate this character? Is it based on someone you know?

I find it much easier to take a person that I know in real life, and then just develop them into an extension, or idealized version.

Q) Every Author has a distinct writing style. How would you describe your style and how do you think you came to form it?

When I started the first novel, I thought that I wanted to write a Steampunk paranormal thriller. But as I went along, I found that I was less and less comfortable with violence. I also realised that I wanted the story to have an element of humour. When I began the second book, I had a better grasp of my style. The dialogue sparkles more, and there is far more humour packed in.

Q) How long have you been working on this book and what inspired you to write it?

The first book took three weeks to write, and a month to put in order. The second book took three weeks to write, (No eating, sleeping or stopping. Just straight through. I could not stop) and a week to work out the nuances.

Q) When did you start writing and when did you realize you want to become an Author?

February 18, of this year! (2013) I started writing a blog adventure on the Steampunk Empire website. I am very much an accidental author.

Q) Who are some of the Authors you like and how do you think their work inspired you?

Terry Pratchett is my number one influence. I like his way of telling an old fashioned story. Underdog hero vs. insurmountable odds. More puns per page than you could believe possible.

Q) What do you think is the most difficult part about writing and publishing a novel?

Having the nerve to start. Once you get past that, things seem to fall into place.

Q) What is some advice you will like to give to people trying to write and get their stories published?

Don’t be a p*ssy! Write it, and get it out there. In this day and age of remarkable technologies, you have no excuse not to put yourself out there.

Q) Tell us something about what you are working on or about some of your future projects.

I plan to continue to save the World, over and over again. Monsters beware! Ichabod Temperance is prepared to put you in your place.

Q) From amongst all the novels ever published if you had to write any one, which one would it be and why?

Neal Stephenson’s “Baroque Cycle.” I have read it three times. The characters are so amazingly charming!

Q) If you had to convince someone to read your book in 5 lines what would they be?

My friend, if you would enjoy a light-hearted read that will make you laugh and touch your heart, please give these novels a try. They contain no graphic sex or violence. No strong language. But there is an element of mild innuendo, and good fun. They are fast-paced, and driven by lovable characters.

Links:

Buy The Book From : http://www.amazon.com/Matter-Temperance-Adventures-Ichabod-ebook/dp/B00CEPGSLY/ref=cm_cr_pr_pb_i

http://www.amazon.com/InTemperance-Adventures-Ichabod-Temperance-ebook/dp/B00DXYDDF4/ref=pd_sim_kstore_1

Website : http://www.thesteampunkempire.com/profile/IchabodAloysiusTemperance

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/ichabod.temperance

Twitter : https://twitter.com/MtrofTemperance

Goodreads : http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7077425.Ichabod_Temperance

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17885067-a-matter-of-temperance

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18243001-a-world-of-intemperance

Leave a Reply

