Rose Mannering – Interview

Today we speak to Rose Mannering.

Roses bio picQ) Tell us something about yourself.

Hey, my name is G. R. Mannering, but I also write under the name Rose Mannering. I was born and bred in England and my favourite things in life are tea (preferably with a baked goodie), books and yarn.

Q) Tell us about your latest book. Why do you think the readers will like it?

Roses is a retelling of the fairy tale, Beauty and the Beast with a dark twist. I hope readers will like the unusual take on this classic and come to love the quirky heroine, Beauty, as much as I do.

Q) How did you come up with the title of the book?

I toyed with different titles before settling on Roses, but they all had the word ‘rose’ in them somewhere. In the end I liked the simplicity of Roses – I felt that it had impact.

Q) What kind of research did you do for your book?

One of the things I love about fantasy is that you can just make it all up! But if I’m being honest, all of the “made-up” parts were grounded in my research about various cultures such as Brittany in France, which inspired me when creating the area called the Hillands in the novel.

Q) Which of the Characters in your book are your favourites and why?

I think my favourite character is Beauty because she’s so misunderstood by everyone else in the book. Her surly demeanour is her armour against the rest of the realm and I think she’s been through so much yet she stays so strong. I created her wishing that I was that brave ;).

Q) How did you formulate this character? Is it based on someone you know?

I think we’ve all felt misunderstood and alone at some point in our lives. I took my experience of that and emphasised it for Beauty.

Q) Every Author has a distinct writing style. How would you describe your style and how do you think you came to form it?

I wrote Roses in a new style for me. Since it’s a retelling of a fairy tale, I wanted to keep the tone traditional and archaic. It was fun to try out a new style and I hope it translates well to readers.

Q) How long have you been working on this book and what inspired you to write it?

I’ve tried to write a retelling of Beauty and the Beast – one of my favourite fairy tales – many times. Once I even got as far as 40,000 words before I stopped because something wasn’t working. On my laptop I have numerous different opening for what became Roses, but one day it just clicked. It was the last day of my holiday and I started writing and then just didn’t stop! I took a little bit from all of my previous drafts and moulded them into the finished piece. In all, I wrote it in about 6 months including edits, which seems very fast, but I had written it before so many times that it didn’t seem rushed.

Q) When did you start writing and when did you realize you want to become an Author?

I have written ever since I can remember. I was diagnosed with dyslexia at age eight and to help me combat my problems, I was encouraged to write more stories. I wasn’t sure if I would ever make it as an author, but I always hoped and it’s amazing that now I’m finally here!

Q) Who are some of the Authors you like and how do you think their work inspired you?

I am indebted to every book I have ever read – good and bad. I think I’ve learnt something from all of them. I have loads of favourite writers, as I’m sure all book-lovers do, but a few of my favourite growing up were: Dodie Smith, Robin McKinley, Roald Darhl and Enid Blyton.

Q) What do you think is the most difficult part about writing and publishing a novel?

I think hearing negative feedback is always difficult. It feels very personal and even the strongest person quakes at a bad review. If you’ve spent so long on a story then you want everyone to like it, but unfortunately, that’s not possible. I would say that the most difficult part of publishing a novel is dealing with that and not letting it get you down.

Q) What is some advice you will like to give to people trying to write and get their stories published?

Never ever give up! It seems a simple thing but it is crucial. You’ll get there in the end if you keep going. I’ve had so many setbacks but after three years, I’m finally here.

Q) Tell us something about what you are working on or about some of your future projects.

I have a picture book coming out with illustrator ,Bethany Straker, in Spring 2014 called The Spotty Dotty Daffodil, which I am so excited about! The plot was based on a silly story I wrote when I was little and Bethany’s illustrations are so beautiful.

Q) From amongst all the novels ever published if you had to write any one, which one would it be and why?

I would love to have written I Capture the Castle because it is one of my favourite books and it’s just so gorgeous! If you haven’t read it then definitely go and check it out.

Q) If you had to convince someone to read your book in 5 lines what would they be?

She bears no name. Her silvery appearance is freakish and her mother vanishes at the instance of her birth. Tauntingly named Beauty, she flees the capital in a violent uprising that sets out to massacre all Magics and journeys to the furthest point of the country. But Beauty cannot hide in the grassy Hillands forever. In a midnight blizzard she escapes into a deep, enchanted forest to a great and terrible beast who will bargain for her life.

Links:

Buy The Book From : http://www.amazon.com/Roses-G-R-Mannering/dp/1620879883

Website : www.rosemannering.com

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/pages/Rose-Mannering/391310353008

Twitter : http://twitter.com/rose_mannering

Pintrest : http://www.pinterest.com/rosemannering/

Goodreads : http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6989845.G_R_Mannering

Youtube :  https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5EWd5OyRDeZlIZA7Sh2WYA/videos?view=0&flow=grid

Leave a Reply

