Dave Watson – Interview

DaveToday we talk to Dave Watson.

Q) Tell us something about yourself.

I was born in Heston in 1956. In those days it was a small village near Heathrow Airport. Today, it’s part of a much larger town. I’ve always enjoyed writing and sport and have taken part in two London Marathons. My first novel, titled Full Circle was the first Inspector Wesley novel and was published in September 2011.

Although at present I’m apart-time author, my ambition is become a full-time author.

Q) Tell us about your latest book. Why do you think the readers will like it?

Murder at Melcham Hall tells the story of a recent murder which readers soon become aware is related to things that happened centuries ago. The setting is a stately home set in a sleepy English village.

If anyone enjoys a British detective novel then they will love this.

Q) How did you come up with the title of the book?

I created the name Melcham Hall for the stately home in the book and simply thought the title had a good feel.

Q) What kind of research did you do for your book?

I spent time looking into details of the local area and the type of property where the murder is set just to get a feel for the pace of the story and a visualisation of the setting.

Q) Which of the Characters in your book are your favourites and why?

As always I love Inspector Wesley. He’s a down to earth dogged British policeman and someone who cares greatly for his colleagues. He will take time out to roll a cigarette and weigh up a situation. I guess he’s methodical and analytical like me.

Q) How did you formulate this character? Is it based on someone you know?

I think Inspector Wesley is a mixture of some of the characters I’ve read over the years. As mentioned, I think his character is pretty similar to mine and I guess he’s the kind of methodical detective that I like to watch on TV.

Q) Every Author has a distinct writing style. How would you describe your style and how do you think you came to form it?

It’s difficult to describe my writing style suffice to say I always stick to writing short chapters. It’s something I prefer if I’m reading someone else’s book. I hate nothing more than to have to put a book down half way through a chapter.

Q) How long have you been working on this book and what inspired you to write it?

I spent six months writing the book. I was inspired by the feedback I received from Tor Murders which was published in July 2012.

Q) When did you start writing and when did you realize you want to become an Author?

I used to enjoy writing short stories for my children when they were young and have always had the urge to write. I finally sat down to write my first novel two years ago.

Q) Who are some of the Authors you like and how do you think their work inspired you?

My favourite author has to be Agatha Christie and I confess to having read all of her novels. Other authors I enjoy are Kate Ellis and  Jacqueline Winspear to name but two. All three authors have such distinctive ways of writing, compelling the reader to turn over the next page. The shear enjoyment of reading anything written by these people is enough to inspire anyone to write.

Q) What do you think is the most difficult part about writing and publishing a novel?

For me, the biggest factor has been finding time to write. Being in full-time employment I only get the opportunity to write in the evenings and at weekends. With regards to publishing, well we all know how difficult it is to find a publisher. I have been extremely fortunate in being accepted by Mirador Publishing who have helped me enormously since my first novel.

Q) What is some advice you will like to give to people trying to write and get their stories published?

Always write at the time that’s best for you, obviously difficult when one is working full time, but set aside time and stick to it. As far as the publishing side goes, then my advice is to shop around. Reach out to as many agents and publishers as you can but make sure they work in the same genre as your work.

Q) Tell us something about what you are working on or about some of your future projects.

I have just self-published a short story titled Smudge Adventures.’ The story relates to the adventures of two cats as they explore the world around them. It’s available from Amazon in ebook format and all proceeds go to charity.

I’m currently working on the fourth Inspector Wesley novel which I hope to get published early in 2014.

Q) From amongst all the novels ever published if you had to write any one, which one would it be and why?

I don’t think I can pick just one but it would certainly be written by Agatha Christie.

Q) If you had to convince someone to read your book in 5 lines what would they be?

If you like to read a British detective murder mystery set in the heart of the English countryside then Murder at Melcham Hall will take you into  the sleepy village of Shepton Mallet where past history catches up with the current tenants of Melcham Hall.

Links:

Buy The Book From : http://www.amazon.co.uk/Murder-Melcham-Hall-Dave-Watson/dp/1909220639/ref=la_B0034O2MS2_1_1/278-4443098-6574310?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1385428576&sr=1-1

Website :  www.davewatson.info

Twitter : http://www.twitter.com/davewatson56

Amazon :  http://www.amazon.co.uk/Dave-Watson/e/B0034O2MS2/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

Leave a Reply

