Marie Drake – Interview

mariedrakeauthorphotoToday we speak to Marie Drake

Q) Tell us something about yourself.

I am a mom, first and foremost, through and through. My children are my world. I devoted more than ten years providing home daycare, because I love children, and because it allowed me to be at home with my children as they grew up.

Q) Tell us about your latest book. Why do you think the readers will like it?

My book is called Three Rules. I think readers will like it because it touches on a real subject, and it is full of surprises.

Q) How did you come up with the title of the book?

The book is titled after a quote within the book , “I have learned three rules in my life: 1.) The most dangerous people in the world are not always strangers. 2.) The scariest things imaginable are not those that can kill you, but those you can live through. And probably the most prominent: 3.) The most horrible possibility is not what could happen to you, but what you could become – I became a killer.”

Q) What kind of research did you do for your book?

Well, the story is based in a small town, on a lake, so I didn’t have to stretch my imagination very far on that. I drew on my own personal life experiences when describing the feelings and emotions of the main character. I survived some things in my childhood that scarred and changed who I was forever. It affected my outlook on life, on the world, and affected my decisions and the way I lived until I was nearly thirty years old. I often wonder how different I would be if they never happened. I have also been a caregiver for children who suffered abuse, which I can’t go into detail about for privacy reasons.

Q) Which of the Characters in your book are your favourites and why?

My favorite character in the book would be  Joey Bishop, because he is a true friend to the main character, Hope, and always sets his own feelings aside to make sure she’s okay.

Q) How did you formulate this character? Is it based on someone you know?

No, it isn’t. I formulated the character because I felt  Hope needed someone like him, in order to stay sane, to stay connected to life. I think anyone in her situation would need someone like that.

Q) Every Author has a distinct writing style. How would you describe your style and how do you think you came to form it?

I think I try to tell the story from within the main character. I want to describe feelings and situations with words and actions to give the reader the best understanding possible without revealing too many secrets. I want the reader to feel something.

Q) How long have you been working on this book and what inspired you to write it?

I thought about writing this book for years — the setting, the characters, and so forth.  It sat in the corner of my mind, and I put small pieces of it together at a time. I didn’t have the time to actually put any of it on paper, however, until my kids grew a little older. I have seen and experienced many sad and painful things in my own experience and while being  a foster parent which inspired the story.

Q) When did you start writing and when did you realize you want to become an Author?

The first time I remember writing a story was in third grade. When the teacher handed it back to me, she said, “Very well done,” and discussed my story with me. I was hooked.

Q) Who are some of the Authors you like and how do you think their work inspired you?

I do enjoy works by Mary Higgins Clark, and James Patterson and  although I would not  presume to  compare my  writing to these authors, that is the type of suspense I hope to attain in my work.

Q) What do you think is the most difficult part about writing and publishing a novel?

Strangely, the hardest part for me is letting others read what I write. Writing it is thrilling, exciting; I am passionate about it. It wasn’t until recently my husband convinced me I should let other people read it. To me, it is very personal. It is a piece of me, and when others read it, it doesn’t belong to just me anymore. But, it’s also the best thing about writing and publishing a novel also. The sheer gratification of a stranger reading your work and being touched by it, affected by it, is awesome.

Q) What is some advice you will like to give to people trying to write and get their stories published?

Don’t give up. Life gets in the way; it may slow you down but it can’t stop you if you keep moving toward your goals, even if it is an inch at a time. It can be challenging, but follow your dreams.

Q) Tell us something about what you are working on or about some of your future projects.

I am currently working on another suspense novel, called Don’t Cry For Me  that I hope to release late in 2014. It is about a boy who loses his mother to a disease, and also loses his baby brother to a tragic accident, and then because of his actions and reactions to the situation is placed in foster care. But as usual, there is more going on behind the scenes than is revealed in the beginning of the novel, and hopefully it will be an emotional ride to the finish.

Q) From amongst all the novels ever published if you had to write any one, which one would it be and why?

If I had to write any novel ever published, I believe I would choose Ethan Frome by Edith Wharton, just because it has always been my favorite book.

Q) If you had to convince someone to read your book in 5 lines what would they be?

The book touches on a real subject of abuse, but in a delicate manner.

The story contains friendship, loyalty, suspense, fear,  love, mystery, and even a dash of romance.

You will be engaged in one twist, only to be turned in a different direction.

You will feel like you really know the characters in the book, then you’ll wonder if you do.

Most readers have stated the end was totally unpredictable, and the most thrilling part of the book.

Links:

Buy The Book From :http:/www.amazon.com/Three-Rules-Marie-Drake/dp/1492772909

Website :  http://mariedrake.com

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/MarieDrake?ref=hl

Twitter : http://twitter.com/MarieDrake72

Goodreads : https://www.goodreads.com/MarieDrake

Amazon : http://www.amazon.com/Marie-Drake/e/B008EXDU8O/

Others : http://MarieDrake.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

