A Year in Reading – 2014

With the year coming to an end, it seemed apt to post a list of my favorite reads from 2014. These were not necessarily published in 2014, but a collection of books I managed to read this year.

Of the 68 books I read this year here are my top 25 recommendations (in no particular order):

  1. The Boleyn Inheritance – Philippa Gregory
  2. The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul – Deborah Rodriguez‎
  3. The Other Boleyn Girl – Philippa Gregory
  4. The Cuckoo’s Calling – Robert Galbraith
  5. The Constant Princess – Philippa Gregory
  6. Geisha, a Life – Mineko Iwasaki
  7. The Legend of Sheba – Tosca Lee
  8. The End Of Your Life Book Club – Will Schwalbe
  9. Chocolat – Joanne Harris
  10. The Light Between Oceans – M.L. Stedman
  11. The Little Old Lady Who Broke All The Rules – Catharina Ingelman – Sundberg
  12. Shadow Princess – Indu Sundaresan
  13. Twelve Years a Slave – Solomon Northup
  14. Saving Fish From Drowning – Amy Tan
  15. Princess : A True Story of Life Behind the Veil in Saudi Arab – Jean Sasson
  16. The Lost Symbol – Dan Brown
  17. The Signature of All Things – Elizabeth Gilbert
  18. The Valley of Amazement – Amy Tan
  19. Eleanor & Park – Rainbow Rowell
  20. The Heretic Queen – Michelle Moran
  21. Hotel – Arthur Hailey
  22. The Hunger Games (Series) – Suzanne Collins
  23. Nefertiti – Michelle Moran
  24. The Husband’s Secret – Liane Moriarty
  25. The Reader – Bernhard Schlink

Hope you enjoy them as much I as did. Happy holidays and happy reading everyone!!

6 thoughts on “A Year in Reading – 2014

      • Well, the easiest this to do is read more… I’m just being cheeky!!

        I usually look for topics that interest me. I do rely on certain authors because i love their style of writing and story telling but i am open to others as well. For example i would read anything by Philippa Gregory or a Dan Brown.

        I also rely heavily on friends and family for new suggestions. I love fast paced books and historic fiction. I do read the occasional slow book as well. I do keep an eye open for new titles and NYTimes best sellers in the fiction category. So feel free to check out the recommendations on this blog if that interests you.

        I feel that if you are able to connect to the story and the characters then you can spend hours sitting with a good book (or maybe that is just me). I love discussing the books that i read and that makes the reading all the more fun for me. If i don’t like the first few pages of the book then i will not force myself to read further so i look for stories that are gripping right from the start.

        If i am reading historic fiction i usually start to research about the characters and places before i start reading. Once i have a brief idea then i start the book and follow up with more research through out the reading. This helps me feel such a part of the story and i enjoy it more.

        Hope this helps and looking forward to some reading recommendations from you soon.

        Happy Reading!!!

      • *laughing* That was vicious of you!

        Thanks! Helps bunches. I love historical fiction. I should read more. And I like the idea of learning a bit about the setting before beginning. Have you ever read anything by Brandon Sanderson?

Leave a Reply

