The Queen’s Fool – Philippa Gregory

The Queen's FoolTitle : The Queen’s Fool

Author : Philippa Gregory

ISBN-10 :  0743246071

ISBN-13 : 978-0743246071

Paperback : 512 pages

The Plot :

A young woman caught in the rivalry between Queen Mary and her half-sister, Elizabeth, must find her true destiny amid treason, poisonous rivalries, loss of faith and unrequited love.

It is winter 1533. Pursued by the Spanish Inquisition, Hannah Green, a fourteen-year-old Jewish girl, is forced to flee London with her father. Hannah is adopted by the glamorous Robert Dudley, the charismatic son of King Edward’s protector, who brings her to court as a “holy fool” for the Queen Mary and, ultimately, Queen Elizabeth. Hannah must choose between the safe life of a commoner and the dangerous intrigues of the royal family that are inextricably bound up in her own desired.

The Queen’s Fool is another rich and emotionally resonant gem from this wonderful storyteller.

Review :

This is the fourth book in the Tudor Court Series by Philippa Gregory. From the first page onward, it is full of suspense and intrigue. I believe this is really a very difficult feat to achieve in Historical fiction especially when the story is so well known and has been told repeatedly. Philippa Gregory add her own characters to the court of King Edward, Queen Mary and Queen Elizabeth and makes this book so thoroughly interesting. I devoured this book as quickly as I possibly could. The story is so amazingly told and the pace is so beautiful, I almost wanted to quit my job just so that I could do nothing but read this book in one session. Very highly recommended especially to historical fiction fans!! Can’t wait to start the next book in the series!

Links :

Buy the Book From : http://www.amazon.com/The-Queens-Fool-Novel-Boleyn/dp/0743246071

Find Out More About the Author : http://www.philippagregory.com/

5 thoughts on “The Queen’s Fool – Philippa Gregory

    • Hi Ajla,

      Welcome to my blog! I am waiting to finish the Tudor Court series and then start The White Queen and the rest of the series (The Cousins’ War series).

      On a different note, I loved your blog. Would love to keep in touch and share book titles!!

      Cheers,
      BookWorm

      • Thank you so much, it’ll be my pleasure, I’m always up to good recommendation :). You’ll enjoy the Cousin’s War series too, believe me 🙂

      • I just finished reading The Red Queen in the Cousin’s War series. It’s the second book in the series and I have not read the first one. I also read The Other Boleyn Girl last year and loved it. Never saw the movie. Looking forward to reading more of Philippa’s Tudor books after I finish the Cousins Series. Do you always read the books in order?

      • Hi Katie,

        I actually came across this series when i was doing some research on the Tudors and so now i have read the books in order as it also helps with my research!!

        Looking forward to starting the Cousins War series next. I have heard amazing reviews!!

Leave a Reply

